“The Clearwater River Rush Jet Boat Race results are in. Racers arrived in Orofino on Friday for test and tune, capsule training and registration. Boats lined up for a Show and Shine on Johnson Avenue in the evening for spectators to enjoy and meet the crews. Saturday morning the racers started with mild weather conditions and good water levels, racing from Ahsahka Beach to Kamiah Boat Ramp and back throughout the day. Spectators were seen along the corridor watching and cheering them on. Thanks to the Clearwater Boat Club for organizing and hosting the event, all went well and ended successfully. Boat club President, Chris Barger would like to thank all those that volunteered to work and everyone who participated. It takes a lot of preparation and many volunteers to pull it together and wouldn’t be possible without them. Thank you to Title Sponsors Applegate Well Drilling of Grants Pass Oregon & Cloninger’s Marketplace, Class Sponsors Les Schwab Tire, Rogers Motors and Peters & Keatts Equipment Inc. and local sponsors LCCU Orofino, Ronatta’s, Fiesta En Jalisco, Debco Construction, Hanson Garage, Banner Bank, Main Street Tire Co and Washington Trust Bank. Special thanks to Fiesta En Jalisco for the use of the banquet room, City of Orofino Police Dept. for security and street closure during the Boat Show, Clearwater County Sheriff Marine Patrol race safety, Hidden Burnt Treasures Photography, WebInk Designs and Back Country Trading Post for t-shirt printing.”
Winners: A Class – 1st Sneaky Snake, Ryan Hudson and crew; 2nd Serious Trouble, Dale Barger and crew
CX Class – 1st Liquid Courage, Barry Pelkey and crew; 2nd Maniac, Jeff Edwardsen and crew
FX Class – 1st Alcohaulin, Mike Lindsey and crew
Photos: Race Coordinators – Gene Sloppy, Rob Vance, Ruth Sloppy, Jim Barger and Chris Barger
Kamiah Timers – Nola Cullum, Sarah Elizabeth, Megan Houser
Orofino Timers – Cindy Hasket, Amy Snow, Heather Storms, Erica Holland, Cindy Nichols
Sweep Boat driver – Jaxson Thompson photo credit HBT Photography
Safety Boat 2 driver – Jerry Gross
Safety Boat 4 driver – John Pearson photo credit HBT Photography
CX Class and Overall winner – Liquid Courage, Barry Pelkey driver photo credit HBT Photography
A Class – Serious Trouble driver Dale Barger
CX Class – Maniac driver Jeff Edwardsen photo credit HBT Photography
Sheriff Boat photo credit HBT Photography
A Class – Sneaky Snake driver Ryan Hudson
FX Class – Alcohaulin’ driver Mike Lindsey photo credit HBT Photography